Phil Stacey: New Label Deal

By Brian Mansfield

Details on Phil Stacey’s new deal

The ink is barely dry on the contract signing Phil Stacey to Christian label Reunion Records. Phil went to the label’s office in Franklin, Tenn., late yesterday afternoon to make the deal official.

Phil, as you may recall, parted ways last year with Lyric Street Records, where he had a moderate country hit with If You Didn’t Love Me. “. I took the opportunity to start shifting gears,” Phil told me when we talked by phone this morning. “I didn’t know if I was even going with a label again. I started booking some services at church, and I realized how much I enjoy singing Christian music.”

Reunion’s courtship of Phil began last September when Phil appeared at a tribute concert for Michael W. Smith at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center. Since Smith records for Reunion, the label’s president attended the concert and saw Phil perform.

“Apparently, while I was singing, he started texting my manager and saying he was interested in working out a deal,” Phil says.

More @ USA Today

